Altering pattern after fitting

I’m new to Seamly 2D and am having trouble understanding best practices with using it.

For example, I drafted a block for a jacket and had my first fitting. Not sure what the best way to alter the pattern would be from here.

Based on the fitting the shoulder seam needs to move so I started to construct angles and arcs to alter pattern but stopped realizing that I should be changing measurements but not sure how to track changes.

dain jacket v2.val (23.5 KB)

Could you upload the measurement file as well? @Grace or @Douglas, who are among the most likely to be of assistance, might already have compatible measurement files, but my only file with all those measurements is for a 15" tall doll, so the proportions are somewhat… fantastic. :laughing:

:unicorn:

1 Like

measurement file. somewhat incomplete… dain.vit (964 Bytes)

2 Likes

Hmmm… If you’re trying to make a pattern fit a given size, you don’t want to be changing the measurments, but rather the formulas for the various (grade) points in the pattern. If you measure yourself, the measurements don’t change - how the pattern uses those measurents changes.

The way a pattern adapts to the measurements is by using measurement variables in the formulas… and when you change to a different measurment file, then the formula values change according to the measurments, and thus the pattern changes.

For example… in the BK block you have the shoulder point B25 based on the hardcoded value of an arc. Normally most pattern systems are going to base that point on either the shoulder to shoulder or shoulder width measurment or some proportion of the chest measurment (AKA a “proportional draft”)

pattern