How to add a notch where 2 pattern pieces unite

Hi there, newbie here. I have used the union tool to join 2 pieces (front and back of raglan sleeve) and now I would like to put a notch where it unites at the top of the sleeve (to match the shoulder seam). Where the pieces meet, there are 2 points, so I added a passmark on both, but I don’t get anything, no notch showing. Is there a solution for this? Thank you in advance for your help.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome to the Seamly2D forum, @Camimade

I’m going to hope that someone else will come and reply to your question because I avoid the Union tool like the plague :rofl: - but that’s just me.

I prefer to do all my unions in the pattern drafting using the Move, Mirror and/or Rotate tools, to create copies of the pieces and join them. This way, you have a full set to add notches wherever you please :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Hmmm… interesting question. I’ll have to play with it later when at home, and I’ll get back to you. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Camimade,

I made a test with two simple draft pieces. Added notches where they would meet. Joined them, and the notch appears automatically. So your pattern has some differences.
Please post your pattern & measurement files so we can troubleshoot.
Thanks! (I’m in Windows with the build from Nov 28)

3 Likes

Well, I made a similar test… discovered some things interesting. I intentionally made the notch type at A2 different for each piece AND lo and behold it added 2 - A2 nodes in the union main path, each with it’s respective notch type. Thing is, if there are 2 nodes with the same name NO notch is displayed. You have to exclude one of them for the notch at that node to show.

Which brings up several questions.

1. Do I make the union tool keep both duplicate nodes?

2. If not, which node should go?

3. If yes, should one be added excluded?

4. If yes, which one should be excluded?