Seamly2D not creating lines

I’m new to Seamly2D and I seem to be having trouble creating lines or curves at all. The most I seem to be able to get is one straight line. The program isn’t asking for line length, or letting me import measurments from SeamlyMe. So frustrating to get a line sometimes, or a curve that doesn’t make sense (although I guess it’s better than the nothing I’m usually getting).

Please help! Am I doing something fundamentally wrong (I saw in a YouTube video that you should go counterclockwise, but that’s not giving me the results I need either, everyone else seems to just be clicking and creating lines, curves, and points effortlessly, maybe it’s my computer?)

3 Likes

Welcome to Seamly! Don’t worry, many of us – certainly me – started in a very similar spot.

(ETA: Grace’s response, below mine, is probably more helpful.)

First, the counterclockwise thing is the first step of the second (third?) stage of drafting, so it doesn’t matter quite yet.

Is it too much to assume that you have already established a measurement file using SeamlyMe? If not, that’s your first step. Go to the Measurements menu & Open SeamlyMe (or you could open it directly from the finder/file explorer if you’re not using the linux AppImage.)

Okay, assuming that you do have a measurement file made-up. With your new pattern glowing with that big shiny A, go to the Measurements menu & Load Individual / Multisize. Use the dialog to navigate to the desired .smis or .smms & Open it.

Now your measurement file is linked to your draft. I recommend saving now.

Your drafting system is probably based on lines, even if only to focus on the points at the intersections of those lines, because we humans have trouble conceptualizing pure points. Computers, however, operate from the opposite direction: everything is made of points, as the mathematicians wish us to believe. Therefore in Seamly2D you must draft by points.

So, the first & preeminent tool is: Point - Length and Angle.