How can I help with translations to Portuguese?

Hi, everyone!

I’ve recently started using Seamly and I’d like to help with the translations to portuguese, but I’m not a developer :slight_smile:

Is there any way I could help without actually getting my hands into the source code?

Thank you! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forum, @acosturadodia.

I’ve been looking to find where there are specific instructions on how to do this but I’m afraid I got lost myself, so I can’t expect you to find how to do this, but the most recent conversation is here.

Perhaps @Douglas can point us in the right direction or write a small tutorial on how to do this?

1 Like

At minimum you have to at least have a current copy of the Portuguese translation (TS) files. You could edit it with any text editor, but I highly suggest that one use the Qt Linguist application to edit ts files. It will keep you from mangling the files, plus it’s just way easier to use.

You can download your OS ver of Linguist from here:

And here are the measuement and seamly2d ts files. I had to rename them with “.val” at the end to post here. Rename without the .val, and you can load them into Linguist to edit the translations. To make it easier you can just repost (or send me) the edited ts files back and I can add them to the repo.

measurements_pt_BR.ts.val (228.5 KB) seamly2d_pt_BR.ts.val (595.5 KB)